Who can participate?

Residents in deregulated service areas

For our group switching programs, only households that are in the deregulated service areas can participate.

Non-deregulated areas

In some areas of Texas, municipalities and cooperatives did not participate in the 1999 deregulation. Households in those areas may not qualify to choose their own electricity provider. Households in areas served by a member-owned electricity cooperative or a municipal-owned utility cannot participate.